Nugenix Review: The Formula Behind the Performance Claims

BRUTAL FORCE / FORMULA & TRAINING

Advertisement feature by Brutal Force. We benefit financially from sales of our top recommended products.

If Nugenix has caught your attention because of strength or physique goals, start with its actual formula. This review covers the original product, not Total-T, T2 or Ultimate. Testogen Ultimate is our leading testosterone-support recommendation; DBULK addresses a more specifically muscle-focused purchase.

Overall formula pick

Testogen Ultimate

Our choice for broad daily support is Testogen Ultimate. For someone whose main goal is muscle building, DBULK is the Brutal Force option worth reviewing next.

Explore Testogen

The formula comparison

Version: original standard US Nugenix, not Total-T, T2 or Ultimate. Serving basis: 3 capsules.

Amounts refer to the stated serving for each product, not one capsule. Extract weights, raw-herb equivalents and elemental mineral amounts are different measurements.

Swipe the table to see every product column.

Complete active-ingredient comparison
Ingredient Testogen Ultimate
4 capsules
Nugenix
3 capsules
D-aspartic acid 2,025 mg Not included
Ashwagandha 200 mg; KSM-66 root extract Not included
Fenugreek 100 mg; seed extract, at least 50% saponins Testofen seed extract, included in the 2,103 mg complex; individual amount not disclosed
Panax ginseng 100 mg; extract, 5% ginsenosides Not included
Nettle 80 mg; root extract, 10:1 Not included
Black pepper extract 7 mg; BioPerine, 95% piperine Not included
Vitamin D3 100 mcg (4,000 IU); cholecalciferol Not included
Vitamin K2 90 mcg; menaquinone-7 (MK-7) Not included
Vitamin B6 8 mg; pyridoxal-5-phosphate (P5P) 2 mg; pyridoxine hydrochloride
Magnesium 80 mg; bisglycinate and citrate Not included
Zinc 25 mg; monomethionine 1 mg; chelate
Copper 0.5 mg; bisglycinate Not included
Boron 5 mg; bisglycinate Not included
Vitamin B12 Not included 50 mcg; methylcobalamin
Citrulline malate Not included Included in the 2,103 mg Free Testosterone Complex; individual amount not disclosed
Tribulus Not included Tribulus terrestris, included in the 2,103 mg complex; individual amount not disclosed

“Not included” indicates confirmed absence from the assessed formula. “Not verified” identifies a gap in the information available for this comparison; it does not mean the manufacturer hides the amount.

Testogen Ultimate: 13 active ingredients. Mineral figures are nutrient amounts, not the weight of the full mineral compound.

Nugenix: Standard Nugenix T-Booster. The 2,103 mg complex is the combined weight of citrulline malate, Testofen and tribulus, not the amount of each ingredient.

Capsule and other ingredients

Testogen Ultimate: Vegetable-cellulose capsule and NuFLOW rice-hull ingredient.

Nugenix: Other-ingredient list not verified for this version.

A blend total is not a workout dose

Citrulline malate appears in original Nugenix, but its individual quantity sits inside a 2,103 mg complex with Testofen and tribulus. That leaves no sound basis for treating this bottle as a measured citrulline supplement for training. An ingredient name and an assessable dose are different pieces of information.

The same issue applies to Testofen. We can recognise the named extract without claiming the blend matches a published study. Tribulus also does not turn the whole combination into a proven testosterone intervention for trained men. 1 2

Why our testosterone pick is Testogen

Testogen's four-capsule serving sets out its ingredients separately, including 2,025 mg D-aspartic acid and 200 mg KSM-66. That makes a more useful starting point for a ingredient-based purchase than guessing how a proprietary complex is divided. It does not establish a guaranteed increase in strength.

For us, the distinction is a broad, specified daily formula rather than an acute pre-workout effect. The vitamin and mineral forms, transparent quantities and short other-ingredient list support that choice. A harder session after starting a product is not, by itself, evidence that testosterone has risen.

The DBULK option for a muscle-building goal

DBULK belongs in this decision if the original shopping goal was muscle building rather than a general testosterone formula. Its mix includes L-leucine, ashwagandha and MSM. We would assess that training-oriented combination separately, instead of pretending it is a like-for-like replacement for Nugenix's Testofen blend or a reason to take two products together.

  • Muscle-oriented formula with L-leucine, ashwagandha and MSM.
  • Also described with puncture vine, sodium hyaluronate, suma and vitamin D3.
  • Three capsules daily on the product page; follow the directions on the supplied bottle.
View DBULK from Brutal Force

Inside our overall pick: Testogen Ultimate

Formula coverage
13 actives, all amounts disclosed; four-capsule daily serving
Botanical specification
KSM-66 root extract 200 mg; Panax ginseng 100 mg at 5% ginsenosides; nettle root 80 mg at 10:1
Further active amounts
D-aspartic acid 2,025 mg; fenugreek extract 100 mg; BioPerine 7 mg
Mineral detail
Zinc monomethionine 25 mg; magnesium 80 mg as bisglycinate and citrate; boron bisglycinate 5 mg; copper bisglycinate 0.5 mg
Vitamins
D3 100 mcg; K2 90 mcg as MK-7; B6 8 mg as P5P
Clean-label design and heritage
Vegetable cellulose and NuFLOW; brand developed since 2014, now in its fourth generation

Ingredient breadth, disclosed quantities and named forms explain the selection. They are not measurements of testosterone change, strength or muscle gained from this finished formula.

Explore the full Testogen formula

Choose by the goal behind the search

Best overall

Testogen Ultimate

Broad formula, named premium forms and fully stated active amounts.

Compare Testogen options
Our muscle-building selection

Brutal Force DBULK

A training-oriented ingredient mix to assess for a specific muscle-building goal.

See the DBULK formula
Value alternative

TesTotal

A more economical route when a smaller testosterone-support formula fits.

Check TesTotal options

Suitability alongside your existing routine

Review overlapping vitamins, minerals and herbs before adding a product to an existing training stack. Testogen contains 4,000 IU (100 mcg) D3, so its dose needs to be considered with other sources. A preferred formula is not automatically suitable for every user. 3

Unwanted reactions warrant stopping the product and obtaining appropriate advice. Ongoing symptoms need proper assessment; this comparison cannot diagnose testosterone deficiency or replace treatment. 4

Take a closer look at our overall pick

View Testogen Ultimate ingredients

References

  1. Rao et al. (2016). Testofen, symptoms and testosterone in healthy ageing males.
  2. Neychev and Mitev (2005). Tribulus terrestris and androgen production in young men.
  3. Rizzoli (2021). Vitamin D supplementation: upper limit for safety revisited.
  4. Bhasin et al. (2018). Testosterone therapy in men with hypogonadism: clinical practice guideline.